Justizvollzugsanstalt Pöschwies

Justizvollzugsanstalt Pöschwies: Eingangspforte

The Penal Institution of Pöschwies (PI Pöschwies) with its 426 places for male criminals is the biggest institution of its kind in Switzerland. Today's institution opened in 1995 and replaced the former Penal Institution of Regensdorf dating back to 1901. The PI Pöschwies employs some 250 staff.

The PI Pöschwies is geared towards adult men sentenced to a prison term of at least one year, to an in-patient measure or to indefinite incarceration. Since January 2004, detainees with shorter sentences are also accepted in the extension.

The detainees have to work. They have the opportunity to learn a trade in the modern workshops associated to the PI Pöschwies.

The PI Pöschwies has its own in-house social service and in-house medical service. The Psychiatric-Psychological Service (PPS) of the Office for the Execution of Penal Sentences and Justice is responsible for the psychiatric care and the therapies ordered by court. In addition, the spiritual needs of the inmates are also catered for.

The average stay in the PI Pöschwies is roughly three years. There are several different options after the stay in the Penal Institution:

  • to be placed in a day-release facility or in external employment/external accommodation, e.g. at the Correctional Facility Bachtel or at Haus Lägern
  • release on parole, sometimes combined with probation assistance
  • release after serving the entire sentence
  • transfer to detention pending deportation
  • extradition to a third country

Justizvollzugsanstalt Pöschwies

Justizvollzugsanstalt Pöschwies: Eingangspforte

L'établissement pénitentiaire de Pöschwies (EP Pöschwies) est, avec ses 426 places pour délinquants masculins, le plus grand établissement fermé de Suisse. L'établissement actuel a été ouvert en 1995 et a remplacé l'ancien établissement pénitentiaire de Regensdorf qui datait de 1901. L'EP de Pöschwies compte environ 250 employés.

Sont incarcérés à l'EP de Pöschwies des hommes majeurs condamnés à une peine privative de liberté d'au moins un an, à une mesure stationnaire ou à une mesure d'internement. Depuis janvier 2004, l'établissement accueille aussi, dans l'extension du bâtiment, des détenus condamnés à des peines courtes.

Les détenus sont astreints au travail. Ils ont la possibilité de suivre une formation professionnelle dans les ateliers modernes de l'EP de Pöschwies.

L'EP de Pöschwies dispose d'un service social interne et d'un service médical interne. Le Service de Psychiatrie et Psychologie (SPP) de l'Office de l'exécution judiciaire est responsable de la prise en charge psychiatrique et des thérapies ordonnées par le tribunal. De plus, les détenus bénéficient d'un accompagnement spirituel.

La durée moyenne de détention au sein de l'EP de JVA Pöschwies est d'environ trois ans. Après la détention dans l'établissement pénitentiaire, plusieurs possibilités entrent en ligne de compte :

  • Un transfert en détention en milieu ouvert ou sous forme de logement et travail en externat, par exemple dans le centre de détention de Bachtel ou dans l'établissement de Lägern
  • La libération conditionnelle, parfois assortie d'une assistance de probation
  • La remise en liberté une fois la peine entièrement purgée
  • Le placement en détention en vue du refoulement
  • L'extradition vers un pays tiers