Organisation

The Office for the Execution of Penal Sentences and Justice is responsible for the execution of sentences and measures for the different forms of detention.

The Office serves a dual function:

The probation and corrections services serve as law enforcement authority and they are responsible for the different sanctions and refer them to the different correctional facilities, including those outside the Canton or manage programs and probation assistance.

The Remand Prisons and the Penal Institutions of Zurich, the Penal Institution of Pöschwies and the Massnahmenzentrum Uitikon accept the detainees assigned to them by law enforcement and prosecuting authorities, also from outside the Canton, as correctional facilites.

The most important fields of activity of the Psychiatric-Psychological Service (PPS) lies in the implementation of therapy offers with a view to preventing crime and in risk assessment with the focus on violent and sexual offences as well as in the psychiatric basic care in all prisons and in the institutions for the execution of sentences and measures in the Canton of Zurich. In addition, the PPS focuses on application-oriented evaluation research within the Office for the Execution of Penal Sentences and Justice and is responsible in the field of quality assurance.

Geschäftsleitung Justizvollzug

Amtschef
Amt für Justizvollzug
Thomas Manhart
Stellvertretung Amtschef / StabschefJérôme Endrass
Leiter Bewährungs- & VollzugsdiensteHans-Jürg Patzen
Untersuchungsgefängnisse ZürichRoland Zurkirchen
Vollzugseinrichtungen ZürichTheo Eugster
Justizvollzugsanstalt PöschwiesAndreas Naegeli
Massnahmenzentrum UitikonGregor Tönnissen
Psychiatrisch-Psychologischer DienstMatthias Stürm

Erweiterte Geschäftsleitung 
Personal, Ausbildung & AssessmentAstrid Rossegger
Evaluation, Entwicklung & QualitätssicherungBernd Borchard
RechtFlorian Funk
Logistik & SupportValerie Profes
Finanzen, Controlling und InvestitionenBruno Schneeberger
KommunikationRebecca de Silva

Organisation

Dem Amt für Justizvollzug obliegt der Straf- Massnahmenvollzug und die Durchführung der verschiedenen Haftarten.

Dem Amt kommt dabei eine Doppelfunktion zu:

Als Vollzugsbehörde sind die Bewährungs- und Vollzugsdienste für die Durchführung der verschiedenen Sanktionen verantwortlich und weisen diese in die entsprechenden – auch ausserkantonalen – Vollzugsinstitutionen ein bzw. führen Programme und Bewährungshilfe durch.

Als Vollzugsinstitutionen nehmen die Untersuchungsgefängnisse Zürich, die Vollzugseinrichtungen Zürich, die Justizvollzugsanstalt Pöschwies und das Massnahmenzentrum Uitikon von den – auch ausserkantonalen – Vollzugs- und Strafverfolgungsbehörden eingewiesene Insassen auf.

Die wichtigsten Geschäftsfelder des Psychiatrisch-Psychologischen Dienstes (PPD) sind die Durchführung deliktpräventiver Therapieangebote und Risikoeinschätzungen mit Schwerpunkt Gewalt- und Sexualdelinquenz sowie die psychiatrische Grundversorgung aller Gefängnisse sowie Straf- und Massnahmenvollzugseinrichtungen im Kanton Zürich. Ausserdem führt der PPD anwendungsorientierte Evaluationsforschung im Amt für Justizvollzug durch und ist für die Qualitätssicherung zuständig.

Geschäftsleitung Justizvollzug

Amtschef
Amt für Justizvollzug
Thomas Manhart
StellvertretungHans-Jürg Patzen
Leiter Bewährungs- & VollzugsdiensteHans-Jürg Patzen
Untersuchungsgefängnisse ZürichMarkus Epple
Vollzugseinrichtungen ZürichTheo Eugster
Justizvollzugsanstalt PöschwiesAndreas Naegeli
Massnahmenzentrum UitikonGregor Tönnissen
Psychiatrisch-Psychologischer DienstFrank Urbaniok

Erweiterte Geschäftsleitung 
DLZ PersonalwesenMartina Boron
Organisation & EntwicklungErika Diane Frey
RechtFlorian Funk
Assistenz der GeschäftsleitungGaby Heil-Hofmann
Finanzen / Controlling / InverstitionswesenBruno Schneeberger
KommunikationRebecca de Silva