Transparency principle

The Bill on Information and Data Protection (BIDP) in brief

The Bill on Information and Data Protection (BIDP) (German) outlines the principles according to which public authorities act vis-à-vis the citizen. The Cantonal authorities pursue an active information policy, i.e. they communicate matters of general interest of their own accord. The website of the cantonal BIDP Coordination Center (German) will give you the information you searched for regarding the transparency principle.

Data protection

On the other hand, data protection guarantees the protection of privacy of natural and legal persons. Whenever information on persons is gathered, processed or published, this means a limitation of fundamental rights like personal freedom and the right to privacy under the Swiss Constitution.

The Bill on Information and Data Protection (BIDP) (German) determines the necessary rules and the Data Protection Officer (German) of the Canton of Zurich monitors compliance with them.

The BIDP in the Canton of Zurich

The new Cantonal Constitution (German) introduced the transparency principle in the Canton of Zurich starting 1 January 2006. This means that any official activity, with only a few exceptions, is done in a transparent fashion and publicly accessible and that those interested can gain access to information of the cantonal authorities. To express this constitutional right in more concrete terms, the Bill on Information and Data Protection (BIDP) (German) and the respective Ordinance (IDPO) (German) as well as other amendments to the cantonal legal system have been adopted. They entered into force on 1 October 2008. The simultaneous entry into force of the Bill and the Ordinance provides for a harmonised adherence to the transparency principle in the Canton of Zurich, with due respect of data protection (German).


The Bill focuses on the following:

  • Consistent interlocking between the transparency principle and data protection
  • Public authorities' duty to supply information and individual right to information access
  • Protection of privacy
  • Revision of data protection
  • Obligation to pay fees for access to information

Öffentlichkeitsprinzip

Das Informations- und Datenschutzgesetz (IDG) in Kürze

Das Informations- und Datenschutzgesetz (IDG) legt die Grundsätze fest, wie die öffentlichen Organe mit Informationen gegenüber Bürgerinnen und Bürgern umgehen. Die kantonalen Behörden informieren aktiv, d.h. von sich aus über die Geschäfte, die von allgemeinem Interesse sind. Die Website der kantonalen Koordinationsstelle IDG führt Sie zu den gesuchten Informationen rund um das Öffentlichkeitsprinzip.

Datenschutz

Der Datenschutz stellt auf der anderen Seite sicher, dass die Privatsphäre von natürlichen und juristischen Personen geschützt ist. Wenn Informationen über Personen beschafft, verarbeitet oder bekanntgegeben werden, stellt dies eine Einschränkung von verfassungsmässigen Grundrechten wie der persönlichen Freiheit und dem Recht auf Privatsphäre dar.

Mit dem Informations- und Datenschutzgesetz (IDG) werden die notwendigen Regeln aufgestellt und der Datenschutzbeauftragte des Kantons Zürich wacht darüber, dass diese eingehalten werden.

Das IDG im Kanton Zürich

Mit der neuen Kantonsverfassung wurde im Kanton Zürich auf den 1. Januar 2006 das Öffentlichkeitsprinzip eingeführt. Dies bedeutet, dass alles behördliche Handeln - mit einzelnen Ausnahmen - transparent und öffentlich zugänglich ist und dass alle Interessierten Zugang zu den Informationen der kantonalen Behörden haben sollen. Zur Konkretisierung dieser bereits in der Verfassung verankerten Ansprüche wurde Das Gesetz über die Information und den Datenschutz (IDG) und die zugehörige Verordnung (IDV) sowie weitere Änderungen in der kantonalen Rechtsordnung erlassen. Sie traten auf den 1. Oktober 2008 in Kraft. Mit der gleichzeitigen Inkraftsetzung von Gesetz und Verordnung wird das Transparenzprinzip unter Wahrung des gebotenen Datenschutzes im Kanton Zürich einheitlich umgesetzt.

Das Gesetz regelt die folgenden Schwerpunkte:

  • Konsequente Verzahnung von Öffentlichkeitsprinzip und Datenschutz
  • Informationspflicht der öffentlichen Organe und individuelles Recht auf Informationszugang
  • Schutz der Persönlichkeit
  • Revision Datenschutz
  • Gebührenpflicht für Informationszugang